CD Ghost – “Somebody Else”

Today, CD Ghost shares their newest single “Somebody Else,” their second from their upcoming EP Vignette I. The EP will be Cody Han and Blake Dimas’s first major release since their gorgeous debut album Night Music released just last year, which we put on our list of our favorite albums of 2022. Written while the duo was split between Los Angeles and Beijing, Night Music was ultimately an ode to “solitude, change, and the passage of time,” with their signature brand of dark synthwave offering each track a hypnagogic, phantom-like aura that lingers – like moonlight reflected upon the surface of the ocean – well after the final notes. 

Built upon a fragile, diamond-like synth melody ensconced in a blanket of dense percussion, and Han’s echoed vocals relaying an anxious narrative of self-awareness,“Somebody Else” is ultimately cool to the touch, at once enchanting and haunting. “In my dreams I’m always somebody else,” Han admits, the synth swirling around the vocals like an icy winter wind; “deep in my subconscious I tell myself / That a part of me relies on pretense/ Buried in the lies I can’t comprehend.”By the track’s close, the synth towers above and is loudest of all, glowing bright and slightly formidable like a beacon of light, gesturing towards the eventual reaching of a monumental epiphany, the slow close to a dream, or, perhaps more like the abrupt end to a nightmare. But before then, he’s still trapped well within his subconscious, wading through the ghostly ether of reverie; “I’ll give you a call then, when I’m myself,” he promises. 

Vignette I is out 12/2023. 

P

photo courtesy of artist

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.