Valley Palace – “Patch”

Valley Palace is the dream pop project of California based artist Nathan Taylor. Partly inspired by films from the 1980’s and ‘90’s, his music feels lost in time in the best way, blending together the sounds of the past with the modern sentiments of today. Released back in July, “Friend,” his debut single for Run For Cover Records, was an addictive jangle pop stunner, with sun-soaked guitar melodies and a nonchalant tone in the vocals despite the slightly self-conscious narrative (“I never thought that I’d be worth it/ But I’m gonna try”). The accompanying video, peppered with grainy shots of Taylor skateboarding, running through fields, and singing through an old RCA television, solidify this project as something that – like the movies he draws inspiration from – “takes an optimistic and endearingly honest look at life, chronicling his own coming-of-age period as a teenager entering their early twenties.

His newest single, “Patch,” is a bit more on the ruminative side, swapping out the bright melody for something a bit more soft and muted. “My mind’s in my pocket/ It didn’t work until I lost it,” Taylor admits while ensconced in a tantalizing guitar melody. Soon, the air condenses and color comes in during the chorus, where the narrative takes on a tone that’s bittersweet: “I’ll wait for another day/ Close my eyes, and then I fade away  / I’ll wait for another day / Patch my heart until I feel okay.” 

The main melody was really reminding me of something, so I enlisted the help of my older brother (an ‘80’s/’90’s synth/new wave expert) and this is what he had to say on the track: “It’s like if Peter Hook from Joy Division and New Order covered The Cure.” I’m inclined to agree, but do with that what you will! Regardless of influence, however, Valley Palace has beautifully and effortlessly put his own spin on the genre, and we’re really looking forward to what he releases next. 

“Patch” is out now. 

P

photo courtesy of artist/Run For Cover

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.