Brothertiger – “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” (Tears for Fears Cover)

Tears for Fears was among one of the first bands I remember hearing as a child thanks to my older brother’s extensive collection of 80’s classics, and, considering my learning years were in the 2000’s, I have his distaste for ever leaving that era to thank for my admiration. Needless to say, “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” is certainly not a foreign track to me, and I’ve heard countless covers. Brooklyn-based artist Brothertiger, however, has one of the most devoted and freshest reimaginings in quite a long time, and the fact that he will soon release a cover album of 1985’s Songs From The Big Chair proves his own admiration tenfold. His voice is buoyant and tender, the synth blossoming all around him in true Tears for Fears fashion.

Brothertiger Plays: Songs From the Big Chair will be released on May 19th.

P

photo by Andrew Piccone
Leave a Reply

