Local Natives – “You and I”

Hummingbird_(local_natives_album)This song, as well as the band that produced it, is no less than extraordinary. I have spoken about Local Natives before, but I have to showcase this song as well because it is so beautiful. I love Local Natives because you can clearly hear the passion and determination in the lyrics, the delicate music, and in both Taylor Rice and Kelcey Ayer’s unbelievable voices. They have had two studio albums thus far, Gorilla Manor (2009) and Hummingbird (2013). “Sun Hands” from Gorilla Manor was what made me discover Local Natives and their unique sound, and it just went on from there. Hummingbird was sort of an impulse buy, but I’m so glad I went ahead and purchased it because it has some truly amazing songs on there. “You and I” is the first song on Hummingbird, where it’s strong vocals and deep, ominous, nostalgic guitars and piano sounds really represent the album as a whole. Keep an eye out for a Band Appreciation Friday post on Local Natives sometime in the near future, because they really deserve more recognition.

 

P

 

Leave a Reply

