Art of Sleeping – “Above the Water”

64104_10150703674416772_721148023_nThis is such a gorgeous and powerful song. Art of Sleeping is an indie band from Brisbane, and I am so in love with their music. Their soft, ambient melodies overlapped onto strong, pulsating drum and guitar beats are perfect, and Caleb Hodges has a voice that is both delicately coarse and beautiful. There are stories behind the lyrics, as you can see with “Above the Water” and “Empty Hands,” and they remind me of a more energetic Iron and Wine (not that I’m implying that Iron and Wine, a band I love, should be more energetic, but that to each band their own). Most of their songs start out harmonious and mellow, then erupt into this wall of sound that you can’t help singing along to. The choral-like vocals after the chorus always get me. Like I said before, Art of Sleeping is powerful, impassioned, and commanding, but at the same time their music is deep and sensitive. I can’t count the number of times I’ve listened to “Above the Water” on repeat. It really helps you get through terrible days. Take a listen!

 

P

Leave a Reply

