Fitz and the Tantrums – “Out of My League”

220px-More_Than_Just_A_DreamI love songs that are catchy and easy to bob your head and snap along to. In fact, all of Fitz and the Tantrums songs are like that, none more so than “Out of My League.” It’s upbeat and optimistic despite the discouraging subject matter of being rejected by the one you love most. It’s a positive spin on an otherwise upsetting situation, and it’s just awesome. Michael Fitzpatrick is the front man of the band (hence the name) and he is accompanied by the beautifully choral voice of Noelle Scaggs. They came out with their first studio album, Pickin’ Up the Pieces, in 2010, after recording the entire thing in Fitzpatrick’s living room (they couldn’t afford a studio) and it was very positively received by the media. In fact, it made the album have a close, intimate feel to it. “MoneyGrabber” and “Don’t Gotta Work It Out” are some of the showstoppers on that album, and they are some of my favorites by Fitz and the Tantrums. They came out with More Than Just a Dream in 2013 and their hit single “Out of My League” rose to the top of the charts. I love Fitz and the Tantrums because they combine the best aspects of jazz and indie synth which then turn into extraordinary works of music. Also, their music videos are perfect. My friend went to one of their concerts and told me that they are electric live. I just hope one day I’ll get to see them myself!

 

P

Leave a Reply

