London Grammar – “Strong”

London_Grammar_-_If_You_WaitLondon Grammar gives me chills and goosebumps every time I listen to their music. Hannah Reid’s voice is so breathtakingly beautiful and effortless, and she makes me wish a million times over that I had a voice like hers. She literally redefines the standard for young women in music today by singing with a deep, gorgeous voice and her classy, simple, down-to-earth attitude. The other members of the band, Dot Major and Dan Rothman, back her up with soft guitars and keyboards, giving their music an almost translucent and wonderfully ethereal sound. Their debut album, If You Wait, has gone platinum in the UK and only continues to climb charts in the US. I simply adore this band and what they’ve accomplished, and I know they’re working on some big things.  “Wasting My Young Years” and “Hey Now” are my favorites off the album, but this one, titled “Strong,” clearly showcases their strong (ah haha I’m so punny) points and is better to start off with if you have not heard of them. I will say that it is a bit of an acquired taste, but if you’re like me, you’ll love it right off the bat.

 

P

Leave a Reply

