The Belle Game – “River”

belle-game-ritual-tradition-habit-album-review

I recently came across this song a few days ago and I have been listening to it on repeat ever since. It gave me goosebumps the first time I heard it and it still continues to. It’s that good. The lyrics are pure and simple, with a lot of meaning behind the words. My take on the lyrics are that there’s a woman who is tired of being a “river” for her partner to drown their sins and sorrows in (“There’s a place that I’ve found/ Full of sins that you’ve drowned/ I’ve been your river/I’ve been your river since we were kids”), and doesn’t know how to stop it, so she sarcastically screams (“take a little more/ take a little more from me”). The words are sung with such passion, and the singer’s voice is so different and powerful.

Needless to say, it speaks to me a little, and that’s partly why I love it so much. I know this will be a song that I will scream along to on the drive home from a particularly trying day.

The Belle Game is a dark-pop group from Canada and their album, Ritual Tradition Habit, is on iTunes. Give them a listen!

 

P

Leave a Reply

